安全在校

什么是“安全在校”?

在德闳教育,保护我们的学生是我们做任何事情的核心,我们将其称之为“安全在校”。

作为一所将中西方教育理念有机结合的国际化双语学校,我们以中国的法律条规和文化背景为基础,同时也借鉴了世界各国学府的最佳实践方案,在中方老师和外籍老师的共同努力下,制定了一整套保护学生安全和权益的架构与条例。

不仅如此,为了让这套“安全在校”的架构系统不断完善,德闳教育会与家长、教职员工、以及学生一起审阅成果并反馈体验,确保德闳教育的每一名成员都能理解保护学生安全的重要性,使其不受到身体或情感方面的伤害。

我们遇到的第一个挑战,就是在国际上经常使用的一个词——Safeguarding,在中文里并没有直接的译名!因此,为了方便人们理解与记忆,我们决定使用“安全在校”(Safe at School)这一术语,并根据《中华人民共和国未成年人保护法》(2012年修订本)和《联合国儿童权利公约》(中国于1994年批准),制定了一整套的条例与制度。其中最为核心的,是每位德闳教育成员必须遵守的7项指导原则。

                                                                                                               德闳教育“安全在校”的7项指导原则

这7项指导原则构成了整体框架和所有相关政策的基本内容,其中一份重要的文件是《德闳安全在校行为准则》,所有在校工作或为学生提供志愿服务的成年员工都需要签署。

 

“安全在校”在德闳教育是如何推进的?

除了上述的7项指导原则,我们还制定了8项“安全在校”的核心技能,所有在德闳学校工作的员工也同样必须遵守。

                                                                                                              德闳教育“安全在校”的8项技能

我们也清楚地意识到,有些人可能因为缺乏所需的经验或知识,并不能完全掌握这些技能。因此,从董事会成员和学校校长、到学校保安和保洁人员,所有员工培训都会围绕着员工职能而进行整体规划。在德闳,每个人都有机会积极学习,我们也十分鼓励相互交流与自我反思,我们也正在营造一种氛围,让身处其中的人可以感到安全,可以对现实生活中出现的情景提出疑问并进行讨论。

2019年8月,德闳学校的所有中外籍教师齐聚西安,进行了一整天安全在校的深度学习,除此之外,德闳教育的其他员工就这一主题也进行了专业培训。但为了让德闳教育的每一位成员包括董事会、学校管理团队、中外籍教职员工,以及家长、学生、甚至关注支持德闳发展的人,都能随时随地的对德闳“安全在校”条例进行自主学习,我们还专门开发了一个德闳教育微信小程序。

目前,微信小程序只针对德闳内部员工使用。在8月西安举行的教师培训大会上,大家都踊跃得拿出手机扫码进入,并把小程序固定在微信首页。有了线上的学习平台,德闳员工可以随时学习有关“安全在校”的章节内容、参与持续进行的知识自查活动、阅读有关儿童保护的最新新闻与研究等等……德闳教育“安全在校”的学习社区已经建立起来了。

                                                                                                               德闳教育针对员工开发的微信小程序

 

学生如何学习“安全在校”?

我们尊重儿童,并愿意聆听他们的声音,“学生为先”的理念指导着德闳学校所有教职人员的行为。“安全在校”在某些方面的内容是相对敏感的,例如,我们鼓励学生感到不安全时勇敢说“不”,并且教导他们如何确保自己的身体受到成年人和同龄人的尊重。

“保护我的在校安全”(Keeping Me Safe at School)是我们为德闳学生发展的一套教学项目。基于以下4大主题,班主任对如何使用圆圈解决方式(Circle Solution)进行教学,已经经历了完整专业的培训。

                                                                                                                 圆圈解决方式讨论的4大主题

无论是对于班主任还是学生来说,圆圈解决方式都是一种完全不同的学习方式。但德闳学校的国际化教师会与班主任们紧密合作,将这一教学概念有效执行。

圆圈解决方式的原则是让学生自主选择、做出决定、付诸行动,创造出一种积极向上的学习氛围。如果学生感到没有信心或者没有准备好发言,他们可以保持沉默。我们发现,当学生讨论某一问题而不是具体事件时,他们会感到更有安全感。

圆圈解决方式的活动可以是两人一组,也可以是多人小组或者整个集体。老师在授课时会引导学生自己找到解决方案,这种方式可以调动学生的学习兴趣,让课堂变得生动有趣。老师也会让学生们明白,人与人之间需要互相配合,因为每个人对团体来说都很重要。没有人被排除在集体之外,每个人都可以没有压力地加入讨论。我们鼓励彼此倾听,而老师的职责是确保每个人的声音都能得到平等的倾听与尊重。

 

我们如何继续推进德闳“安全在校”之旅?

对于德闳安全在校的团队来说,目前我们仍需持续完善线上学习的微信小程序,让“安全在校”的概念始终走在德闳实践的最前沿。未来一年里,我们计划为家长提供一个微信沟通平台,为学生提供一个“保护自身安全”的交互性程序,还有开发一个所有人都可以访问和参与的播客频道。

最后,在2020年10月,德闳教育在西安还会举行为期两天的“安全在校”论坛大会。大会也会对其他中国学校和双语学校开放,希望能够加深人们对安全在校的认知,加强业界对儿童安全保护的重视。相关领域的专业人士也会一同出席,例如关注学生身心健康的心理学家及作家学者Sue Roffey,以及在国际儿童保护领域广受尊敬的Tim Gerrish OBE等。参加者也将有机会通过线上平台聆听演讲、参加各类主题的研讨会,这些活动也会让他们成为德闳社区中的一部分,将“安全在校”的理念影响身边的更多人。

因此,老师会完全参与到所有活动中,并尽力帮助每一名学生,而不是起到领导作用的中心人物。这是一种全新的学习方式!

Safe at School

What is Safe at School?

At Dehong Education we place protection at the heart of everything we do. We call our approach to protecting students SAFE at SCHOOL.

As International Chinese schools, with a mix of Chinese and international teachers, we wanted to ensure that we place Chinese culture and law at the heart of our work to protect every Dehong student, whilst ensuring that we draw upon best practice from around the world.

We did this by bringing together Chinese and International colleagues to work on the development of this framework, continually checking with Chinese parents, staff and students as to the effectiveness of what we were developing – a framework to ensure that every member of our Dehong community understands their role in keeping our students safe from any physical or emotional harm.

The first thing we challenged was the word that is often used internationally - 'Safeguarding' - there is no direct translation in Chinese! Why use a word that would create a barrier to people we were trying to reach; a word that they would have to think about every time they heard it? So, the term Safe at School was agreed, together with a complete framework based upon the United Nations Convention of the Rights of the Child (ratified by China in 1994) and the 2012 Law of the PRC on the Protection of Minors. At the core of our Safe at School framework are 7 basic principles which every member of the Dehong community must adhere to.

                                                                                                           Dehong Safe at School 7 basic principles

These principles form the basis of the Framework and all associated polices. One of the key documents is the Dehong Safe at School Code of Conduct which is signed by all adults working or volunteering with students in our schools.

 

How do we embed our Dehong Safe at School approach?

We created a set of 8 Safe at School Core Competencies that all staff working in the school have to attain.

                                                                                                            8 Safe at School Core Competencies

We were acutely aware that some people in our community would not be able to meet the competencies, probably because they might not have the necessary experience or knowledge. For this reason, all the training is planned around the competencies for Principles and Board Members to Guards and Ayis! Everyone now has the opportunity to engage in very active learning that encourages dialogue and reflection. We always try to create an atmosphere where people feel safe to ask questions and where real-life scenarios can be discussed.

In August 2019 all the teaching staff from across Dehong schools came together in Xi’an and engaged in a whole day of Safe at School learning. Learning also took place with all members of the community. This was very well received but we decided that we had to find an effective way to continually reach out to all member of our community; leaders, board members, teachers, our vast number of support staff, parents and the students themselves. We wanted the framework to be a living document that people would really become familiar with and refer to all the time. Of course, we turned to the most popular form of social media in China - WeChat!

At our professional learning meeting in Xi’an in August 2019 the Dehong Safe at School mini programme was launched and there were real expressions of delight as people got their phones out to access it!

The Dehong Safe at School Mini programme gives people the opportunity to access with ease different parts of the Framework, revisit materials, engage in ongoing knowledge check activities and read the latest news and research about protecting children. A Dehong WeChat Safe at School community has been created.

                                                                                                         Dehong Safe at School Mini programme

 

How do we involve our students in Safe at School?

Dehong believes in respecting children and listening to their views. The philosophy of Students Come First guides the behaviour of all professionals in our schools. Some aspects of Safe at School are sensitive, for example our students are encouraged to say no if they feel unsafe or and taught how to ensure that certain parts of their bodies are respected by adults and peers.

We have already developed a programme for all students entitled Keeping Me Safe at School. The ‘Banzhuren’ have been specifically trained to lead Circle Solution Sessions based around the following themes:

                                                                                                             4 themes in Circle Solution Sessions

Circle Solutions are quite a different way of learning for both the Banzhuren and the students and their international colleagues are working closely with them to support this new concept.

The principles for Circle Solution are that students make choices, take decisions, act upon them and build a positive emotional climate for learning. Students can stay silent if they do not feel confident or ready to speak. Students feel safer when they discuss issues and not incidents.

Activities are in pairs, groups or the whole Circle. The teachers leading the Circle Solutions time will focus on strengths and solutions. Circles promote positive feelings, including laughter. The teachers will make it clear that is expected that everyone will work with everyone else. No one is left out and everybody is encouraged (without pressure) to join in. Every person is important to the group and encouraged to listen to each other and the teacher’s role is to make sure everyone’s voice is heard equally. Teachers are expected to be completely involved in all activities and facilitate rather than lead or be centre stage. A very new way of learning for some!

 

How will we continue the Dehong Safe at School journey?

The most important thing for the Safe at School Team is to continue to add to the WeChat Mini programme so that Safe at School is always at the forefront of Dehong practice. Plans for the next twelve months are a WeChat platform for parents, an interactive Keeping Myself Safe programme for students and a podcast channel to be available to anyone who would like to access this, hopefully other schools.

Finally, in October 2020 we will be holding a two-day Safe at School Conference in Xi’an, opening this up to other Chinese and bilingual Schools in the hope that we can continue to raise the profile of Child Protection in a society where much is already happening. Key child protection professionals will present along with people such as Sue Roffey, psychologist, academic, author, and speaker who promotes the philosophy of growing schools with wellbeing at their heart and Tim Gerrish OBE who is well respected in the international world of Child Protection. Participants will have the opportunity to network, listen to inspirational speakers and attend workshops of their choice on a range of topics that will help them to become part of the Safe at School community.